Research Methods

to support students enrolled in RES701

Week 9 Reading an academic article

This week we will be spending almost all of the class on preparation for Assignment 2.

As there seems to have been some confusion last week with me being away, I am going to begin today with a recap of last weeks notes (apologies to those of you who have already done the work) and I will ask you to ensure you have found two academic articles.  One you will use for practice this week and the other for your assignment.

We will take a look at Assignment 2 and I will give you some tips that I think make it easier to deal with reading a paper as it is something that can be quite difficult and quite daunting.

I am then going to ask you to do an exercise in class that is related to reading and analyzing an academic paper that you have found. This will enable me to go over some of the areas that you find difficult or puzzling. I hope (and think!) you will find it useful.  The final write up from this article will be a blog post to be completed by next week.

The notes I will be using will be here.

May 3, 2017 - Posted by | Assignment Work, Class Work, General

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

